Population and administrative categories

The region includes 11 Nos. municipalities /Montana, Berkovitsa, Brusartsi, Valchedram, Varshets, Georgi Damyanovo, Lom, Medkovets, Chiprovtsi and Yakimovo/. Population of the region exceeds 148 098 Nos. inhabitantse, or about 2% from the population of the country and about 10% from the population of the Northwestern planning region. There are 130 Nos. Sttlements in the region, 8 out of them are the towns. The urban population is 61% to 70% nationwide. Town of Montana /46 thousands inhabitants/ is the major administrative, cultural and tourist center. Other major towns are Lom, Berkovitsa and Varshets.